

## 3517.1: BUSINESS INJURY PREVENTION PROGRAM

There shall be established a Safety Committee consisting of eight members:

- a. four of whom shall be appointed by the Superintendent, or his or her designee; and,
- b. one who shall be selected and appointed by the collective bargaining units representing the certificated staff (teachers and nurses); and,
- c. one who shall be selected and appointed by the collective bargaining unit representing the custodial and maintenance staff; and,
- d. one who shall be selected and appointed by the collective bargaining unit representing the educational paraprofessionals; and,
- e. one who shall be selected and appointed by the Superintendent, or his or her designee to represent non-union employees including professional technical employees and food service.

The safety committee will operate within the guidelines established by the Nebraska Department of Labor for injury prevention programs. Each school principal shall be responsible for implementing the district safety program in his or her building. The Superintendent will assign an administrator the responsibility for implementing the district safety program in each of the district's non-school buildings.

## **Date of Adoption**

September 23, 1996

## **Date of Revision**

January 17, 2011

January 7, 2019

## **Legal Reference**

Neb. Rev. Stat. §48-443