Curriculum

Welcome to Educational Services. Our responsibility is the curriculum and instruction in our classrooms. 

Millard's curriculum and instruction is guided by the district’s mission and strategic plan, the findings and recommendations of the Phi Delta Kappa Curriculum Management Audit, Millard's Board of Education policy and rules, and the Nebraska Department of Education Rule Ten requirements.

Millard provides a rigorous curriculum that promotes an Advanced Placement ® culture. The curriculum is aligned with and surpasses the requirements of state standards and indicators. The Millard Education Program, commonly called the MEP, consists of content curriculum, appropriate instructional strategies, and valid assessment methodologies. The MEP also outlines the development phases and timeline for curriculum development. The Millard Instructional Model, commonly called the MIM, promotes instructional best practices that are research-based and data-driven. The offices of elementary education and secondary education oversee the formative and summative curriculum-based classroom assessments and diagnostic assessments. These assessments follow the district’s Response to Instruction and Intervention model, commonly called the RTI+I.

You may read more about the Millard Curriculum Management Audit, the Millard Instructional Model, Millard Standards and Indicators and our Multi-Tiered Systems of Support by clicking on each title.

 

 

 

 

Associate Superintendent of Education Services
402.715.8301 |
Contact Us

Kelly Gallegos
Secretary to the Associate Superintendent
402.715.8301
kagallegos@mpsomaha.org

 

Early Childhood Curriculum

Andy DeFreece
Director of Elementary and Early Childhood Education
402.715.8336  
adefreec@mpsomaha.org

Mendy Dickey
Secretary for Title I/Preschool
402.715.8339  
mjdickey@mpsomaha.org

Dr. Jean Ubbelohde
Coordinator of Early Childhood
402.715.8307 
jrubbelohde@mpsomaha.org

Jean Savage
Secretary for Early Childhood and Elementary Special Education
402.715.8302  
jasavage@mpsomaha.org

Cheris Kite
Facilitator for Early Childhood and K-5 Literacy Intervention
402.715.1431
cakite@mpsomaha.org

 

Elementary Education

Andy DeFreece
Director of Early Childhood & Elementary Education
402.715.8314
adefreec@mpsomaha.org

Kim Pirrone
Secretary for Elementary Education 
402.715.8314
kjpirron@mpsomaha.org

Cheris Kite
Early Childhood & K-5 Literacy Intervention Curriculum & Instruction Facilitator
cakite@mpsomaha.org

Ellen Kramer
K-5 Science/Social Studies/Health Curriculum & Instruction Facilitator
eykramer@mpsomaha.org

Matthew Scott
K-5 Mathematics & Intervention Curriculum & Instruction Facilitator
mjscott1@mpsomaha.org

Jody Sempek
K-5 Language Arts Curriculum & Instruction Facilitator
Jlsempek@mpsomaha.org

 

Secondary Education

Dr. Anthony Weers
Director of Secondary Education
402.715.8304
ajweers@mpsomaha.org

Adina Babko
Secretary to Director of Secondary Education
402.715.8484
aebabko@mpsomaha.org

Debbie Curnyn
Secretary to Secondary Education & Educational Services
402.715.8253
dscurnyn@mpsomaha.org

Dr. Melanie Olson
Coordinator of Secondary Programs
402.715.8577
mlolson@mpsomaha.org

John Becker
K-12 Facilitator for Art, Counseling, and College and Career Readiness
402.715.6273
jmbecker@mpsomaha.org

Jan Dahlgaard
Curriculum Facilitator for Secondary Language Arts
402.715.8480
jdahlgaa@mpsomaha.org

Dr. Amy Himes
Secondary Science, K-12 World Languages
402.715.8245
achimes@mpsomaha.org

Devonye Mullins
K-12 Facilitator for Music
402.715.8756  
dmullins@mpsomaha.org

Diane Reiners
Facilitator for Business, FCS, 6-12 Health, & 6-12 Information Technology
402.715.8563
dreiners@mpsomaha.org

Shelley Schmitz
K-12 Program Facilitator for MTSS
402.715.8813  
slschmitz@mpsomaha.org

Nichole Schwab  
PK - 12 Physical Education and 6-12 Social Studies
402.715.8413
neschwab@mpsomaha.org

Tami Whitted
Curriculum Facilitator for Secondary Mathematics, Intervention, & Skilled and Technical Sciences
402.715.1679
tjwhitted@mpsomaha.org

 

 

Special Programs

Dr. Kara Hutton
Coordinator of Special Programs
402.715.8708
khutton@mpsomaha.org

 

English Language Learners

Dr. Kara Hutton
Coordinator of Special Programs
402.715.8708
khutton@mpsomaha.org

Pam Erixon
District ELL Support Specialist
402.715.8764
perixon@mpsomaha.org

Bastian Derichs
Bilingual Liaison
402.715.6244
bderichs@mpsomaha.org

Myrna Gouger
Bilingual Liaison
402.715.6383
mbgouger@mpsomaha.org

Cindy Villa Lopez
Bilingual Liaison
402.715.6390
cllopez@mpsomaha.org

 

High Ability Learner

Monica Hutfles
K-12 HAL Program Facilitator
402.715.8414
mahutfles@mpsomaha.org

 

Special Education

Dr. Terry Houlton
Director of Special Education
402.715.8219
thoulton@mpsomaha.org 

Dr. Carrie Novotny-Buss 
Coordinator - Elementary Special Education
Lead Administrator of MTSS (Multi-Tiered System of Supports)
402.715.8308
cnovotny@mpsomaha.org

Dr. Ted Esser
Coordinator - Secondary Special Education
402.715.8224
tesser@mpsomaha.org

Hayley Mentzer
Coordinator - Young Adult Program
402.715.6330
hdmentzer@mpsomaha.org

Cathy Carrington 
Secretary to the Director of Special Education & Secondary Special Education
402.715.8313
ccarring@mpsomaha.org

Jean Savage
Secretary for Early Childhood & Elementary Special Education
402.715.8302
jasavage@mpsomaha.org

Courtney Heser 
Secretary to the Psychologists, Young Adult Program & Special Education Transportation
402.715.8583
clheser@mpsomaha.org 

Beth Pfeiffer
Secretary - Special Education Records
402.715.8416
bapfeiffer@mpsomaha.org

Kristen McKenney
Facilitator - Elementary Special Education
402.715.8568
klmckenney@mpsomaha.org

Jennifer Pollock
Facilitator - Elementary Special Education
402.715.8286
jlpollock@mpsomaha.org

Kaye Schweigert
Facilitator - Middle School Special Education
402.715.8558
kmschweig@mpsomah.org

Wendy Wight
Facilitator - High School Special Education
402.715.8763
wawight@mpsomaha.org

Tricia Gillett
Department Chair - B-21 Speech/Language
402.715.8585
tlgillett@mpsomaha.org

Kelli Krause
Facilitator - B-21 Autism
402.715.8600
kkkrause@mpsomaha.org

Shelley Schmitz 
Facilitator- K-12 MTSS (Multi-Tiered System of Supports)
402.715.8813 
slschmitz@mpsomaha.org

 

Early College

Dr. Melanie Olson
Coordinator of Secondary Programs
402.715.8577
mlolson@mpsomaha.org

Dorothy Johnson, Metro Enrollment Navigator
402-715-8299
dljohnson2@mpsomaha.org

Amy Wesely, Early College Coordinator
402-715-8299
alwesely@mpsomaha.org

0